Home » Other » General » Oracle vs Sequel - question
Oracle vs Sequel - question [message #642744] Thu, 17 September 2015 20:47 Go to next message
poconosms1
Hi All,

I could use some help/advice. I am not a programmer, but am the project manager/owner of an application currently written in Oracle 9i using MS visual 2003, frame 1.x and .net. My company has all the licenses to take it to 12c ms visual2013, and frame 4.2. There's probably a million lines of code, and hundreds of stored procedures, views, and triggers. My development site is already 11g and it would take 3 months to upgrade production. I have 500 users and the data base is over 20 gigs with photo storage and retrieval. The application has FileNet storage.

My IT department is suggesting that I should have the database converted to Sequel 2015 and moved to a virtual environment. They are asking me for 300k to do this. I suspect it will cost closer to 700-900k because of all the proprietary rewrite required to go from Oracle to Sequel. The IT department would hire outside consultants to do the work, specifically since our in house shop lacks experience in Sequel. Currently our in house programmers update and program new modules.

To me it's a no brainer to keep it in oracle, since my company already has all the licenses. In addition, the in house programmers are not familiar with sequel database programming, so once the consultants leave I don't think i'll have the proper support. The IT group's line is there will be documentation to follow.
The current programmers and DBAs are unofficially warning me not to convert to sequel.

Thoughts?
Re: Oracle vs Sequel - question [message #642747 is a reply to message #642744] Fri, 18 September 2015 02:35 Go to previous messageGo to next message
gazzag